Origin
E 412 is derived from the guar beans of the guar plant. First, the outer layers and the embryo are removed; the remainder is then ground. Guar gum mainly consists of polysaccharides that can only be partially digested by the human body. The binding capacity of E 412 is very strong; even small amounts can transform liquids into a viscous mass.
Usage
There are no approval restrictions for the use of E 412 as a thickener, and there are also no maximum quantity restrictions for most foods. Guar gum is frequently used in ice cream, milk-based beverages, baked goods, jam, preserves, jellies, and fruit and vegetable conserves.
Risks
Since E 412 is not subject to usage restrictions and is also approved for organic products, the food additive should be harmless. However, guar gum can trigger allergies and there is suspicion that it may cause cross-reactions in soy allergy sufferers. In large quantities, E 412 also causes bloating and stomach cramps. Since it is only added in small amounts, E 412 is considered harmless.